Brigittine Rosary

The Brigittine Rosary looks very much like the Dominican (5 Decade) Rosary, but there are six decades instead of five.

Instead of the Glory Be, the Apostles Creed is said at the end of each decade instead of the Apostles Creed.  The Mysteries are as follows:

The Sorrowful Mysteries

1.  The agony of Jesus in the Garden

2.  Jesus is scourged at the Pillar

3.  Jesus is Crowned with Thorns

4.  Jesus carries His Cross

5.  Jesus is Crucified

6.  Jesus body is placed in his Mother’s arms

The Joyful Mysteries

1.  The Immaculate Conception

2.  The Annunciation

3.  The Visitation

4.  The Nativity

5.  The Presentation of Jesus in the Temple

6.  The Finding of Jesus in the Temple

The Glorious Mysteries 

1.  The Resurrection of the Lord

2.  The Ascension of the Lord

3.  The Decent of the Holy Spirit

4.  The Assumption of Mary into Heaven

5.  The Coronation of Mary–Queen of Heaven

6.  In Honor of Mary–Mediatrix of All Grace

The Seven Pater beads symbolize the Seven Sorrows of Mary.

The sixty-three Ave beads symbolize the 63 years of Mary’s life on earth according to tradition.

The Brigittine Order, also known as the Order of the Most Holy Savior, was founded by St. Birgitta (Bridget) of Sweden.

Leave a Reply